Super Rugby is back in our lives, and to add more spice to this already much anticipated tournament, there will be a new format for the 2016 season – featuring four new conferences, three new teams and two new countries, Japan and Argentina. There are now 18 teams that will be competing for a new trophy that will be settled on the 6th of August after 142 nail biting encounters.

New Conferences and Rules:

Four conferences:

Australian Conference:
Brumbies, Force, Rebels, Reds, Waratahs

New Zealand Conference:
Blues, Chiefs, Crusaders Highlanders, Hurricanes

Africa Conference 1:
Bulls, Cheetahs, Stormers, Sunwolves (Japan)

Africa Conference 2:
Kings, Lions, Sharks, Jaguars (Argentina)

Rule changes:
15 Regular Season games per team (8 home/7 away or vice-versa over a two-year cycle)

Two byes per team

135 Regular Season and 7 Finals matches (up from 120 and 5 currently)

Eight-team knockout Super Rugby Finals Series to be staged over three weeks (5 qualifiers from the Australasian Group and 3 from the South African Group)

The four Conference winners automatically qualify for the Finals Series, along with the next three highest-ranked Australasian Group (Australia and NZ) teams and the next highest-ranked African Conference team.

Don’t forget to put yourself right into the action by joining our Superbru pool and give yourself the opportunity to win prizes and become Viva Gym’s ultimate rugby guru!

Click here for all the details on how to sign up.


Share your thoughts
  • No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Your email is never published or shared. Required fields are marked *